• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

DS-260 - getting married and best time to file

mk76

Hi!
I have got a few questions about form DS-260. My fiancee has been recently randomly selected for further processing in DV 2016 program. Her case number is 2016EU00008xxx. My mother 1 year ago filed for me form I-130 (Petition for Alien Relative) - I am in F2B category. Now everything has changed :) My fiancee CN is very low so I am predicitng interview for october/november 2015, but this is not advantageous situation for us, beacuse I am still studying (I will graduate in june 2016). We are planning to get married in 2016 (february-may) and I would like to ask is there possibility to 'delay' interview to may/june 2016 or she will be excluded because her cut-off number was current in october/november 2015? When should we file form DS260? Could she file DS260 as single for example on march 2016 and then change it before interview when we get married?
And my last question - Am I obliged to inform USCIS about my martial status when we got married (because of I-130 petition filed by my mother)?
Thanks in advance.

If I was you I'd go for the DV visa. You'll be waiting years and years to get sponsored by your Mother. From what I can see you'll have to wait another 6 years for your F2B visa. In the meantime you'll be living apart from your wife. Not good for your relationship.

Just because you get your visa in October doesn't mean you have to move to the USA in October. You have 6 months after your medical to activate the greencard then another year to move.

I think you should do the following: have an official marriage ASAP, fill in the DS-260, get the DV visa, have a one week vacation in New York, finish your degree, move to the USA forever.