Derivative Citizenship and Passport Application

DannyP

Hello, I applied for a U.S. Passport as I derived citizenship from my mother's naturalization but am having difficulties with my application being processed. Any help would be appreciated.

I found out a few months ago that I am U.S. citizen. I was born abroad and became a citizen through my mother's naturalization. My mother naturalized when I was 14 years old. I am claiming U.S. citizenship through the Child Citizenship Act of 2000. I was born out of wedlock in 1993 and my parents married in the U.S. in 1998. My father was born in the U.S. but grew up abroad. My parents divorced in 2007, and my mother naturalized in 2008. I was a legal permanent resident at the time of her naturalization and was under her custody. The divorce decree gives both parents custody but my mother has the exclusive right to designate my primary residence, so I lived with her. I've learned that to get proof of citizenship I can either apply for a Certificate of Citizenship (N-600) or apply for a U. S. passport. I decided to apply for a passport because it has a faster processing time and is a lot less expensive. I was planning on applying for the N-600 after I receive my passport, but now I am not sure that I made the right decision. Before applying for the passport, I called the Department of State to verify what documents I would need to send along with my application. So I sent my birth certificate, a certified translation of the birth certificate, my parents' divorce decree, my mom's naturalization certificate, my green card, a passport photo, and a copy of my driver's license.