Denied H1B Visa...can I reapply ?

ak84

Hi,

I have been in the US since 2001. I finished my undergrad ( Bachelors in Economics ) from UVA in 2005 and then worked from 2005-present on H1B. My current H1b expired and I left the country to renew my visa with an approved I-797.

My H1B visa got rejected by the immigration officer under Sec 214 (b). Besides being extremely upset due to all my stuff being there and a lovely girlfriend of 5 years, I am trying to figure out my options.

I am an Indian citizen with a Canadian Permanent Residency (similar to American Green Card)

1. Can I re-apply for my H1B visa at the Consulate or does a denial mean that new I-797 is no longer valid and the company must re-apply for a NEW H1b? If i can re-apply, how long should I wait because there isnt going to be much of a change in my situation...I have a job in the US and have lived there for a while but I plan on returning to my home country ( India ) once my second H1B is complete.

2. Can I apply for a B1/B2 visa ? How long should I wait to re-apply?

3. What are my options to travel to the US, if any and when should I re-apply?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks in advance.

Hi,

I have been in the US since 2001. I finished my undergrad ( Bachelors in Economics ) from UVA in 2005 and then worked from 2005-present on H1B.

My current H1b expired and I left the country to renew my visa with an approved I-797.

My H1B visa got rejected by the immigration officer under Sec 214 (b).
------------------------the Visa officer in US consulate rejected your visa. did you go to US consulate in Canada?
Besides being extremely upset due to all my stuff being there and a lovely girlfriend of 5 years, I am trying to figure out my options.

I am an Indian citizen with a Canadian Permanent Residency (similar to American Green Card)
--------------did you apply for Visa in India or Canada.

1. Can I re-apply for my H1B visa at the Consulate
---------------------YES