Citizenship and N-400

gc11111

Registered Users (C)
Hi
I have a question on behalf of my sister in law. It could be a dumb question as I am really new to this topic ( I am still struggling with GC! ).

1.My sister in law is in US on GC based on marriage since July 99. Is it common and easy enough to apply N-400 ourselves or is better to take help of some attorney?

2. Is N-400 the only form you have to fill for citizenship or are there any other forms.

3. After staying 5 years with GC , is she still dependent on her husband for applying citizenship. If she gets divorced right now, can she still become a citizen or would there be any issue with her Green Card.

My questions may be easy for you guys but I will appereciate your answers.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
gc11111 said:
1.My sister in law is in US on GC based on marriage since July 99. Is it common and easy enough to apply N-400 ourselves or is better to take help of some attorney?

Let me suggest something... Fill the form yourself (or herself), and then hire a good attorney for an hour or two to review your application.

If your SIL has any complications in her case (out of status, etc.) then surely go through an attorney.

gc11111 said:
2. Is N-400 the only form you have to fill for citizenship or are there any other forms.

Yes, there are other forms. Read instructions to N-400, and you will understand it yourself. For example... if you need to request for disability waiver, the Form N-648 needs to be filled. Every one's case is different, so research yourself by reading the instructions in N-400.

gc11111 said:
3. After staying 5 years with GC , is she still dependent on her husband for applying citizenship. If she gets divorced right now, can she still become a citizen or would there be any issue with her Green Card.

Speak with an attorney. There is no simple YES or NO answer here.

----------------------------
Vote Bush '04

dsfgh100 said: