Canadian Married a US citizen without Fiance Visa -- Now what?

cdnusagurl

Here's the situation.

I am a Canadian Resident and I came to the US and married my husband who is a US citizen. This happened in January 05 and I have been in the US ever since. We did NOT get married on a Fiance Visa. We have not filled any forms at all in regards to immigration.

Is the first step filing the I-485 (for me) and the I-130 (for him)? If so, what and when should we expect from US Customs/Immigration? Also, what will the next step for us be?

How can I travel back and forth between the US and Canada without worry of being denied re-entry into the US? There is a family wedding back home and I am scared that if I travel back to Canada and try coming back after the wedding, that they won't let me back in the US. Is this correct? Will this happen?

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Did you maintain lawful status during your stay here (do you have a valid unexpired visa the entire stay). If yes, it is pretty straightforward, if no you should not leave the country at this time and your case might be a lot more complicated. In that case you should talk to an immigration attorney before you leave the country, you could indeed have difficulties on re-entry, married or not.

There are two general ways for you to get your permanent residency:

If you want to stay in the US for the process:

- your husband has to file form I130 (petition for alien relative) marked for 'adjustment of status' on your behalf (with the local USCIS office)
- you have to file form I485 (application to adjust status) on your
- you also might want to file form I765 (employment permit) and form I131 (travel permit) at the same time.