Can I apply for citizenship from abroad? (I'm out with n-470)

shooterm

I'm a US resident working abroad for a US company and have N-470.
How do I apply for citizenship if I am constantly abroad (Australia)?
Even if I did get to go back to the US and apply how do I do an interview or citizenship ceremony when I can't just return on a whim?

Thanks in advance.
G.

Even if I did get to go back to the US and apply how do I do an interview or citizenship ceremony when I can't just return on a whim?

Thanks in advance.
G.

I am in the same boat. I currently live/work in Australia for a US company. I consulted an immigration attorney. He recommended that I return to the US permanently before applying for citizenship. They said that I could fly to the US, submit my application and return to work in Australia but it would be taking too much risk.

Since I am not a risk-taker, I will be moving back to the US in August so I can file for natz.

Yes, you can file the application when abroad. But you still need to return to the US for the fingerprinting, interview, and oath, and have somebody in the US checking your mail for the notices for those three appointments. So that would be three trips with 1-2 weeks notice each, which is not a trivial thing if you're coming from Australia. So unless the company is paying for you to fly back, it's probably better to wait until you are living in the US again. After all, while you're still in Australia you're not really gaining anything by having US citizenship ... there is no major election until late 2010, and having US citizenship doesn't give you any additional rights in Australia (or does it?).

See these two threads for a more in-depth discussion about this issue.

http://forums.immigration.com/showthread.php?t=296106

http://forums.immigration.com/showthread.php?t=296086