Born to US citizen in Europe 1981. What are my rights?

DQ81

As the title says:

I was born to a (my mother) US citizen in the Netherlands in 1981. She was married to a Brit (my father). I received British citizenship at birth as I was put on my fathers pasport for travel.

There is more to the story with a stay in the US from 1995 to 2004 ending in deportation due to a posession of class D and receiving stolen goods above 250. I completed all probation and conditions of the courts. After doing so I went on holiday, came back: 6 months later I was deported based on the aforementioned "crimes of moral turpitude". There was no jail time etc. In fact I am pretty sure I can have those records sealed now? Those convictions were in 2000, it's been over 15 years. I digress.

I have battled a lot in the past 15 years living in the Netherlands, where i was born. I have achieved a lot. I am now a proud father and business owner. Looking to the future I have a refuelled desire to figure my immigration situation out. I NEED to be able to at least visit the US as ALL of my mothers side lives there and my three sisters do as well.

So the first and most important question is: Do I qualify for US citizenship through my mother and if so how? At the time of my deportation I couldn't afford a lawyer, not much has changed, but I did some research and it came down to as much as three different sets of rules depending on your year of birth.

Who can tell me if I do qualify being born abroad to a US parent in wedlock, and if so how?

Thanks in advance,

David

I've answered my own question. The problem I have is that my mother was born in the US but at the age of 16 she attended High School in Belgium. She traveled back and forth regularly and her official residence was in the US. How do I go about proving her 5 years after the age of 19?

I was born in before 1986 (1981) so the 10 and 5 rule applies. Is there any way around this? A form of waiver?