• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

Australian wanting to immigrate to the USA

MattK

Registered Users (C)
Hi all,

My name is Matthew. I am a 20 year old Australian who wishes to live and work in the USA because I love that country.

I am looking for information from anyone who can give me advice from their own experience or their own knowledge on how a young Aussie can immigrate to the USA.

Since DV 2014, each year I enter the Diversity Visa Lottery.

I am aware of the E-3 visa which is for Australians, however from my own research I am unable to confirm whether or not I am eligible for this visa. The area that I have trouble understanding is qualifying occupations/education. I am a commercial pilot. I was not trained at a university and therefore I do not have a degree. I went to a vocational school and I hold 1 Certificate 4 and 2 Diploma's (all aviation related). I also hold a CASA (ICAO) Commercial Pilot License and some additional 'ratings' (specialized training). I finished my training earlier this year and have been working as a pilot for just the last few months. If I traveled to the USA and got my license converted to an FAA (American) license and then managed to secure a job offer from a US employer, would my previous training and experience qualify me for an E-3 visa? I have found evidence to suggest that I am and that I am not so it seems to be a grey area. Any help to clear this up would be very much appreciated!

Are there any other ways that a young Aussie with my education can immigrate to/work in the USA?

In high school I completed the equivalent of a US high school education (A levels). You should also know that I have no family in the USA. I have traveled there many times and have many friends there however.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!