Asylee LPR Travel

eljay

Registered Users (C)
I am a permanent resident who got the status through asylum. I have a question about travel abroad as an asylee. I met few different immigration lawyers. But they all gave me different advices. So I decided to wright you to get the correct answer for this

1. As a asylee LPR can we renew national passport and travel abroad using that passport? Any experience?

2. According to the USCIS welcome latter

( http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/us...nnel=4f719c7755cb9010VgnVCM10000045f3d6a1RCRD )

there is no special rules for those who got LPR through Asylum. But some says even after obtaining LPR status, asylees are not eligible to use national passport. Is this USCIS document is wrong?

3. The above document is last updated by USCIS on 9/19/2008. But there is a previous document on the same issue on 01/4/2007

( http://www.uscis.gov/files/pressrelease/AsylumTravel122706FS.pdf )

according to this fact sheet The LPR who obtain such status based on asylum status are subject to special rules when travelling abroad. Which document take precedence.

4. According to this fact sheet, if the asylee travel to the country of persecution, USCIS may terminate the asylum status. But only underlaying asylum status. But it does not say about LPR status.

If this happens what will happen to the LPR status?

Is it also automatically terminated?
or
are we still eligible to be as a Legal Permanent resident?