applying with expired green card?

robertz

Hello,
I have a expired green card and I wish to apply for citizenship. I have been a permanent resident for over 10 years. However, my green card has been expired now for 5 months. Can I still apply for citizenship with an expired green card? it is recommended to do so? I'm in my early 20's and recently graduated college. I have a clean record. The last time I was out the country would be 2 years ago for a couple month stay in Poland over the summer.

It's unclear whether you would have to apply to renew your green card first or not. At one point there used to be an FAQ answer that said that if your green card is valid for less than 6 months you have to apply to renew it first before applying for naturalization, but that answer has been removed.

I think the advisory still applies. You can try to file the N400 without renewing, but if they decide to make you renew during the process, it could be heavily delayed.

I understand you're trying to save the money on renewing your green card. $540 is not chump change. However ask yourself how much is your time and aggravation worth? You could have your naturalization petition delayed by some callous interview officer because of an expired green card. If naturalization is not urgent, and saving the money is more important, file with the expired green card. If your application gets delayed while you are required to get a new green card, you only lose 3 months or so. If you're going to be traveling in the time between now and naturalization, you may want to get the replacement.

If it were me, I would try to apply with the expired Green Card and save some $$.

The above post by Ananga73 is bad advice and promoting baseless and unnecessary fear to you.

Fact is that you have permanent residency. The card expires but your status does not.