Another TN Application

SonicBoom

Hi all,

I'm glad I stumbled upon this website as the postings seem to be current. I'd like to hear from other experienced people on this.

Let me explain my situation.
I'm currently in my third year on my TN status as a Computer systems analyst which expires later in 2015. I recently signed an offer from another company and I'm planning to fly over to Canada and apply for another TN with my new employer this weekend.

My questions are the following:
1. If they reject the application at the airport, would I be able to just drive down to the Mexican border for another try? I live in the San diego area but am flying only because the attorney recommended that I apply at a Canadian border.
2. Would rejection of the application negatively affect the current TN or my chances of upcoming renewal of TN with the current employer? I would think not but I'm just nervous about the whims of border officials.
3. My planned start date with the new employer is mid March. Does the start date matter as it will still be 2 weeks out at the time of the interview? For my first TN, I was warned about making sure the start date is within a few days of the interview. I'm thinking since I have a TN status already, it would not matter.
4. If I get approved for the new TN, do I still keep the current TN until the end of its original expiry? I plan to give my current employer 2 weeks notice when I get approved. I don't like to be in a situation where they cancel my current TN because I'm getting another one.

I'm pretty nervous about the upcoming interview as they gave me a real hard time for my first TN. I had to try three times to get this one!
Any feedback would be appreciated!

Thanks.

My questions are the following:
1. If they reject the application at the airport, would I be able to just drive down to the Mexican border for another try?
Based on my experience- I will not recommend, better try to paper request.