Green card holder marrying a non-resident alien ?

svtech02

Hello,

I am sure this question has been raised before but I couldnt find a quick thread to the topic hence posting it again. I am a Permanent resident and following are my questions :
1. If I marry someone who resides outside of USA,
- what are the steps to get the green card ?
- On an average how many years does it take ?
- how many years she has to wait before being allowed to work legaly ?
2. If I marry someone who is already in US on F1 or H1, Is the process still same ?

I would appreciate your kind response. Thank you,

SV

svtech02 said:
Hello,

I am sure this question has been raised before but I couldnt find a quick thread to the topic hence posting it again. I am a Permanent resident and following are my questions :
1. If I marry someone who resides outside of USA,
- what are the steps to get the green card ?

Just apply I-130 to get visa number

- On an average how many years does it take ?

5 to 6 years

- how many years she has to wait before being allowed to work legaly ?

Same above

2. If I marry someone who is already in US on F1 or H1, Is the process still same ?

Exactly same, but H1 holder can work but F1 cannot work without Optional Practical Training only one year though.

I would appreciate your kind response. Thank you,

I think it helps. ***I am a person like you. So verify with others***

SV

Last edited by a moderator:
if she/he already in the States, she/he will have to maintain her non-immigrant status all this time: 5-6 years, until they can apply for adjustment of status and work permit.

if she/he is outside the U.S., they'll have to wait for their immigrant visa for 5-7 years.

Hello... I know this post was of 4 years ago, but I'm wondering if this is still the case now?