Re-Entry into USA with a Re-Entry (less than 2 years outside USA)

Background:
  1. Parent have a green card valid until 2024. (Issued in 2014 and valid for 10 years)
  2. Parent have a two year Re-Entry permit issued in Jan/2016
  3. Parent left USA in Jan/2016.
  4. Parent planning to return to USA sometime this year
  5. Parent filed USA taxes for 2016 already. Received tax transcript.

Questions:
  1. Do you foresee any problems at the airport on returning to USA with a green card and Re-Entry permit ?
  2. Can anyone share their experience of coming to USA with a green card and Re-Entry permit ?
  3. What documents do you recommend to carry that can be seen at the airport (Tax transcripts, etc,.)
  4. Any other suggestions ?
Thanks,

Hi Sunasha,

I'm not an expert on this process but if your parent returns before the end of the reentry permit, then there is no kind of problem or issues to return to the U.S. The reason for the reentry permit is to be outside of the U.S. for an extended amount of time up to 2 years, if approved and return to the U.S. with no problem.

You can also check the USCIS website for further info https://www.uscis.gov/green-card/after-green-card-granted/international-travel-permanent-resident

the officer may consider criteria such as whether your intention was to visit abroad only temporarily, whether you maintained U.S. family and community ties, maintained U.S employment, filed U.S. income taxes as a resident, or otherwise established your intention to return to the United States as your permanent home. Other factors that may be considered include whether you maintained a U.S. mailing address, kept U.S. bank accounts and a valid U.S. driver’s license, own property or run a business in the United States, or any other evidence that supports the temporary nature of your absence.

Are you a citizen ? If not, are you included in the Re-Entry permit? (unless it is just your parents travelling)

Background: