• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

The "been there done that" thread: life in the US after DV

Oh, I lowered them plenty.
I have a Masters in Forensic Science, and I was even applying for cleaning jobs and administration and receptionist work, especially where I am (even though I didn't want to stay where I am... I just wanted any job anywhere).
Just feel like no one cares, not a single company got back to me and it's just been depressing having my money dwindle away with nothing to show for it.

This really is not the land of opportunity at all.
I wish someone could have given me a chance, that's all... one chance.

At least where I live,....if you're overqualified and want to land a job in something "below your level",...tailor you CV according to the job requirements. If it's something that doesn't require degrees, put just "High School Degree". I am sure it's the same in the US. My cousin who has a bachelor degree in Chemistry found a job in just 15 days, although not in his field and much below his level of education (Cashier,...now he's a business owner and doing quite well). Maybe you need to revise your "method" of job-seeking. Here is a tip: Forget about internet if you want an unskilled job (temporarily just to earn some money,...you'll have time to find your dream job once you're settled). You must swallow your pride and ask around. Also take into account that it's harder to find a job in Forensic Science than in IT for example,...I'm sure it's the same thing even in your country.

FYI for those who are to replace green cards ...if lost, stolen or have a child turning 14...