Jury Duty

Daniel12345

Hi guys, I'm a permanent resident ("green card" holder I guess) of the US and I got a jury duty summons last week. Do I have to go? There is a "I am not a citizen of the United States" option in the "Not qualified" portion of the questionnaire. Do I just check that and mail it back to them (and not go)? Just don't want to get in trouble!

Also, it asks for a "Passport/ Alien Reg. Card Number" -- is that just the number on my "green card?"

Thanks!

do you have any receipt of N400/ any form DHS, in every form, you can see Applicant Number and your name. That number start with AXXX XXXX XXX. that is Alien Registration number. or check your I-94. at the back side, there will be your alien number too.

Last edited by a moderator:
You do not. You can just call them up and tell them you're not a citizen. They get your information from state ID databases so they don't know if you're a citizen or not.

You do not. You can just call them up and tell them you're not a citizen. They get your information from state ID databases so they don't know if you're a citizen or not.

You are right, but an interesting thought. The state (at least CA) gives you so much hassle to prove your residency. They do not give you a license which will go beyond your legal status. If you extend your I-94, you need to go back to DMV and extend your license. In that case, should not DMV already have a person's status and know they are not citizens? Even in CA (which I know better than others), I have received Jury Duty notice twice when not a citizen, so I am sure they know my status but still ignore it for sending out the summons.

In that case, should not DMV already have a person's status and know they are not citizens?
People could have become citizens since getting their last license. And the driver's license/state ID database is not the only source of names for jury duty; they also look at other government records such as property taxes and vehicle registration.