Worried about N400 denial because of mistakes on taxes

carmen299

Registered Users (C)
My husband has his interview scheduled for June 22nd. I was very excited, until I started to do some research on the interview process and reasons for denial. I figured my husband would be approved with no problems, but I read that tax errors is a reason for denial. Now, I am scared that he will get denied...or worse deported.
What happened is that I have been filing our taxes for the past 5 years or so. But, just realized that I have been filing them incorrectly. I have been filing single for both of us, when I should have done married filing seperately. I'm guessing that the IO will pick up on this error and deny him. Will they deport him over something like this? Or will they report us to the IRS? I know I should have had a professional do out taxes, but we are not able to afford them. So, I just used online tax prep and filing.....I thought I was doing it right. I think we can live with a denial, but deporation will be devistating to us and the children.
Any words of advise? What are the chances that they will pick up on this? Any feedback is appreciated :eek:

It's a mistake, but most likely it has been a mistake for your finances.
Given the same level of income, single people have a higher tax liability than married people.
So you probably paid more taxes than what you were supposed to.
Why would you even put single? I mean, somebody doesn't need to be a CPA to check the right box about your marital status. Even if you file separately, you are married.
Anyways, just explain this to the I/O, he should understand.

Is your husband's application based upon three-year marriage? If so,
IO may question about his marriage since why he puto down single on tax form. Other than that I don't see any problem, at least no problem
that can lead to deportation

It's a mistake, but most likely it has been a mistake for your finances.