I-864 Question

jrlaredo

Banned
My wife doesn't make enough to sponsor me by herself. She still needs about 8-10k. Her mom is willing to be my joint sponsor, but she does not work. Her dad just passed away about 6 months ago (my wife's dad) and he was a firefighter so they get a good retirement check and got alot of money for his death insurance. Is my mother in law able to joint sponsor using money she has in the bank? It is more then enough to cover the 8-10k x 5 that USCIS demands for assets. Would it even be considered assets?

2nd question do I fill out an I-864 for my wife and one for my joint sponsor, or does the joint sponsor fill out 1-864A?

I'm not a lawyer or an expert, i'm just helping you according to my experience filling this form and I even if I'm being honest and I'm trying to help you, I might be wrong, so act accordingly