N-600 or N-400? What do I file to obtain citizenship.

TNM99

Registered Users (C)
I'm a permanent resident who immigrated to the US at age 6. Both my parents became US citizens in my teens before 2001 and 18th B-day. I am now in my 30s. I've been a permanent resident for over 20 years and am ready to become a citizen.

I've spoke to USCIS customer representatives (on the phone) who insist that I file a N-400. OTOH some immigration experts state that I can tag onto my parents' citizenship so I should file a N-600 (I believe a simpler, less expensive and time-consuming process). What should I do (file a N-600 or N-400)?

Please help me! Thanks in advance!

Please, help us help you. You'll probably need to be more specific about what was your age when your parents naturalized (became U.S. citizens). I can guess that if you're in your thirties, and they naturalized before your 18 birthday, that they naturalized well before the year 2000. I haven't checked the child citizenship act now, but if my memory serves me well it was not retroactive, so it is likely that you need to naturalize using N-400, and you're not a U.S. citizen yet.

PS: I checked the child citizenship act of 2000 and my interpretation is that it is not retroactive, i.e. if you were 18 or older on February 27, 2001, which according to your information you were, you didn't derive citizenship through this act. I don't know if there is any other law that might have applied to your case.

In some places N-600 is more time consuming than N-400, anyway, the most important consideration is to use the appropriate form for your case.

Huracan is right, it all depends on when your parents naturalized and what age you were on the day the Child Citizenship Act came into force.